Fourth Semester Wrap-Up

It was a long semester. Sure, it was the standard 15 weeks of classes, minus weekends and Mid-semester break, and the credits were the same as last semester, but you could tell me that Fourth Semester actually spanned the entirety of 2018 and I would neither argue with or be surprised.

Today I looked back on the three little posts I managed during the actual semester. The passion and enthusiasm for the semester actually lasted to the end, with a few exceptions. In case you forgot (because it’s been a few months), my course load for Fourth included:

  • Aquatic Medicine (1 Credit)
  • Clinical Pathology (5 Credits)
  • Essential Veterinary Skills D (1 Credit)
  • Pathology 2 (5 Credits)
  • Pharmacology (4.5 Credits)
  • Veterinary Public Health and Epidemiology (3.5 Credits)

In addition to courses, I was a TA for both Vet Prep’s Intro to Micro, as well as 3rd Semester’s Virology, and Avian Club’s Secretary. As well as keeping up with running, keeping up with friends, and keeping up with other clubs that I am a member for. It was lot. Actually, I’d say that it was too much. I found myself frequently overwhelmed, so I’m reducing my load a bit in Fifth Semester.

(P.S. Some people may pose the question:  “Well then, why don’t you just go out/socialize/exercise less?” To that I reply:  Work-life balance is extremely important in veterinary medicine. Veterinary professionals have one of the highest depression/suicide rates of all professions. Establishing time away from school, away from medicine, is super duper important now, so that those habits transfer over in our careers. I’m not out all the time, and I’m not about to feel guilty when I do go out.)

This semester had some highs and some lows, no doubt about that. The highs were sat atop pretty peaks, and the lows safely in the shallows. Yes, I found myself overwhelmed at times, but I successfully completed a semester as a TA for two courses, I ran a couple of fun races (my 9th and 10th races in 3 years, actually!), I made strides with my partner and mentor on our Don’t Feed the Birds Initiative, had a solid term as Secretary of Avian Club, and positively crushed my final examinations, regaining my spot on the Dean’s List!

I am truly excited for Fifth Semester. In Fourth Semester, we dipped our toes into actual medicine with Clinical Pathology and Pharmacology. Next semester, we’re diving in head-first. Courses include:

  • Anesthesiology (4 Credits)
  • Aquatic Veterinary Medicine II (1 Credit)
  • Diagnostic Imaging (4 Credits)
  • Essential Veterinary Skills E (1 Credit)
  • Small Animal Medicine I (7 Credits)
  • Toxicology (3 Credits)

Along with those credits, I’m only going to be TAing one course this semester, Vet Prep’s Intro to Microbiology. I will be stepping out of the role of Secretary and into the role of President of Avian Club. I am nervous and excited to be taking over the role. I know I have huge shoes to fill, which is daunting, but I’m going to do my best. I know I have a great team in my new Executive Board, and I know we are capable of doing wonderful things.

I’ll be working on my new semester’s resolutions over the next couple of years, and I intend to return to at least 2 posts here a month. I’m sure I will have a lot more to write about next semester!

Until then, thanks for sticking with me during this semester’s hiatus! I hope everyone’s holiday season was merry and bright, and that everyone has a fun and safe New Year!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑